Six levels of language learning

The Common European Framework for Languages, a document released and updated by the Council of Europe, has identified six levels of language learning. These levels describe what a person should be able to do at different stages of learning. We are not talking about grammar knowledge, but the ability to communicate with a language. Levels go from “basic user” (level A1 and A2) to “independent user” (level B1 and B2) to “proficient user” (level C1 and C2).

Find your level Contact us for help

Normal beginner course

  • 36 hours over 12 weeks
  • 1 lesson per week
  • 3 terms in a year

Register today

Not a beginner?

You will be required to have an assessment in order to allocate you to the right level. The test takes about 90 minutes. The assessment fee is R450 to be paid upfront via EFT.

Register today

Costs for Italian courses for adults

Register today!

Normal Course

R4,400 / Term
  • Membership of the Dante Alighieri Society is mandatory at R200
  • Add cost of text book at R600
  • Three terms per language level


To enrol as a student you need to become a member of the Dante Alighieri Society at R200 per year. Once you are a member you can enjoy discounts from our partners. Just show your Dante card and get a discount!

What are you waiting for?

Your journey to Italy starts here!

Contact us today!